Weather Forecast


TENNIS: BSU trio earns All-NSIC honors

BEMIDJI -- Junior Zoë Lindgren and sophomores Hannah Alme and Ariadna Lopez-Simo of the Bemidji State tennis team were named all-conference selections Tuesday by the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference.

Lindgren was selected second team All-NSIC in singles play, while Alme and Lopez-Simo each earned honorable mention honors as singles players.

Lindgren, a native of Bozeman, Mont., posted a 7-7 mark in singles play this season, going 5-6 versus league competition as the Beavers’ top player.

This is the third All-NSIC honor of the junior’s career after earning second team honors a year ago for singles play. She also combined with three-time all-NSIC selection and BSU graduate Morgan Opp to collect second team All-NSIC honors as BSU’s No. 1 doubles pair a year ago.

Alme led all BSU singles players with a 13-2 overall record and 10-1 mark versus the NSIC. The Baldwin, Wis. native teamed up with Lopez-Simo to earn a second team All-NSIC honor as the Beavers No. 2 doubles pair last year.

Lopez-Simo’s honorable mention award is also the second of her career and her first as a singles player. Despite missing five matches to injury, the native of Barcelona, Spain finished her sophomore season 5-4 in singles play and was 4-4 versus NSIC opponents in No. 2 singles.

The NSIC named Augustana's Kornelia Staniszewska as Player of the Year for the third straight season, while teammate Berkley Darr was named Senior of the Year and Chloe Jefferies of Sioux Falls earned Freshman of the Year. Augustana's Marc Kurtz was named NSIC Coach of the Year for the fourth consecutive season.

The Beavers (10-5, 7-4 NSIC) finished the season with their third straight 10-win campaign and advanced to the NSIC semifinals for the first time since the league adopted its current postseason tournament format in 2010.